Causes of Knee Osteoarthritis.

10 Jun

Knee Osteoarthritis cripples one body, one soul, one spirit., I use to do so much, my body use to feel so awesome, before osteoarthritis / spurs fell upon it! My bmi was at the level it should of been but through the years I shrunk so now I have to loose 15 more pound to have the TKR!What must I do now, I have lost over 100 lbs in 4 yrs, now it is hard to loose those those extra pounds. I have gotten depressed over it, I have lost hope that I can change. I will soon be getting an motorized wheel chair. Help me with some advise!

Dr Charles Eugster

I have talked about the extraordinary and disturbing number of knee joints that are being replaced by artificial joints. There are 600,000 knee replacements every year in the US at a yearly cost of $9 Billion. They have doubled over the last decade. (OECD iLibrary 2011). They are expected to double again in the UK over the next 2 decades! (Lancet 380:1768 2012).

Age is a factor. 70% of those 65+ show radiological evidence of osteoarthritis in at least one knee or hip joint. (J. Orthop. Res. 7:15 2012)

But one of the major causative factors is obesity. 69% of knee operations may be attributed to obesity in Croatia (Ljec. Vjesn. 131:22 2009). If all overweight and obese people were to reduce weight by only 5Kg., or until their  BMI was within the normal range, 24% of OA knee surgical cases could be avoided.! (Int. J. Obes. Relat. Metab. Disord…

View original post 204 more words

Leave a Reply

